A New Old Wheel

I have long admired the beauty of a Canadian Production Wheel (CPW).   Long before I became a spinner, I would see them at antique and flea markets and wish I had one, if nothing more than something beautiful to look at.  However, my practical nature always kicked in, nothing is just to look at, it had to be useful too.

Fast forward a few years and I had finally learned to spin.  Searching on Kijiji I found a working CPW in the Cobourg, Ontario area that eventually made it’s way to me (see here and here for more info).  But last year, while participating as a vendor at Fibrefest (of which I will be again this year), another vendor close to me was spinning on a double treadle CPW, and it seemed magical, and I wanted one.

This week, this lovely came home with me.

2003-12-31 001

Upon first inspection I couldn’t find any identifying marks to indicate who the maker might be.  But when I took it outside for these pictures, a shadowy mark on the table became visible.  I searched on-line and Ravelry, and with almost certainty I will say that it is a Phillias Cadorette, mose likely made in the early 1900’s.  This wheel appears to be original except for the hooks on the flyer, which are made from bent nails, we will have to fix that.

2003-12-31 002

Along with the wheel came two bags of carded batts in a blend of alpaca, merino and mohair in a colourway called “Fire & Brimstone”, as well as a  bag of mohair/wool roving.

2003-12-31 007

And if that isn’t to my liking, I always have this,

2003-12-31 009

bags of wool and alpaca roving processed at Noble Fibre Mill (sorry, I don’t have a web page link for them) from various fleeces we had.

Happy spinning,

Kelly

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Old Wheel

  1. KerryCan says:

    Oh, my!! That is one gorgeous wheel–and it has found an excellent home, where it’ll be used!

Leave a Reply

