That’s A Wrap!

Or a shawl.  Or a very big scarf.

A few years ago I purchased a skein of hand-dyed boucle from Hidden Touch Yarns, they were a vendor at the OVWSG annual Christmas sale.  It has been languishing in my yarn cupboard ever since, waiting to be turned into something.

As it turned out, I had a couple of cones of mohair left over from a throw I did a couple of years ago, I thought the colour of the mohair would go nicely with the boucle.

2004-01-01-001

I decided on a plain rectangular shawl, similar to one I done a couple of years.  The mohair was used for the warp, sett at 6 ends per inch, width in the reed was about 27″, and the warp length was 3 yards.  I did one pick at each end with the mohair and hemstitched each end as well.  The boucle was used for the weft.  It was woven plain weave throughout.

Mohair can be difficult to work with, it wants to stick together.  I googled for ideas on how to stop this from happening.  I read where spray starch may help.  I also read where someone suggested mane detangler for horses.  I tried the spray starch and a detangler (just not for horses), I would not recommend either one.  But what I did find was that if the warp is wound on nice and evenly, you keep your warp very tight, advance your warp frequently, and do a direct tie-up for your harnesses, things move along a lot better.

I may not do another mohair project for awhile, but I am happy with the result.  Now, if I could just get a good photograph, this isn’t as long as it looks.

2004-01-01-008

 

 

Happy weaving,

Kelly

 

This entry was posted in weaving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s A Wrap!

  1. KerryCan says:

    It’s beautiful! I’ve read a lot about how hard it is to weave with mohair and it scares me!

Leave a Reply

