Overshot Runner Part 1: Warped

Now that I am familiar with the technique of overshot, I have decided to weave some more runners on my home loom.

I found a draft that I like from the Leclerc Looms website.

(photo from Leclerc website)

(photo from Leclerc website)

Pattern Details:

  • 2/16 cotton for warp and tabby weft
  • 2/8 cotton for pattern weft
  • 30 epi
  • 16″ wide in the reed
  • 480 ends

I am using a sectional warp beam, something I’m not that familiar with.  Since I am only doing a small warp (6 yards), I needed to figure out how to get my warp on.  I decided to wind 16 warp chains, 30 ends each.

warp chains

warp chains

And, thinking I was being clever, wound them all on at the same time.  Note to self:  do not do that again.  I did however, use a warping valet/trapeze to maintain a nice tight tension while winding on, and I will definitely do that again.  The following picture shows the warp chains coming from the back of the loom, under the front beam and up to the valet (aka broom handle in the floor joists).  After this picture was taken I removed the front beam because it wanted to pop off.

Overshot Runner 009The warp chains were weighted with bottles of water:

Overshot Runner 010

Three warp threads broke while I wound on the warp that will have to fixed, not too bad I think.

This is how the warp looks from the back of the loom:

Overshot Runner 013

and tied onto the front apron rod:

Overshot Runner 014

Now to start weaving!

Happy weaving,

Kelly

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overshot Runner Part 1: Warped

  1. KerryCan says:

    That’s a beautiful pattern! What color will you be using for the pattern weft?

Leave a Reply

