The Big Easy

No, I don’t mean the 1987 movie starring Dennis Quaid and Ellen Barkin, but rather my 1950’s mangle iron.  It’s big:

Mangle Iron 018

and as the name suggests, it’s

Mangle Iron 020

Lift the cover, and it looks like this:

Mangle Iron 021

Mangle Iron 022

A heating element with dual temperature controls sits behind the large roller.  Turn on the switch, the roller begins to turn and the element comes down, ironing whatever rolls past it.  I have found this iron to be most useful in pressing my handwoven items, especially when doing several items, like the dish towels mentioned in my previous post.

Happy weaving,

Kelly

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Big Easy

  1. KerryCan says:

    Oh, I so wish I could find one of these! I sell vintage linens, which means lots of ironing, and I weave–it would be so helpful!

Leave a Reply

