FI-NAL-LY

I have finally finished a set of dish towels that I wove two, maybe three years ago.  What was the delay?  The fear of cutting into perfectly good fabric and having it all fall apart before my eyes.

On The Loom

On The Loom

However, yards of fabric just sitting on a shelf is of no use either, so out came the sewing machine and scissors and I went to work, and they did not fall apart.

I pinned and pressed all the hems, sewed them all by hand (a process that I quite enjoy actually), threw them in the washer and dryer, and they did not fall apart.

Towels

Towels

At my Saturday sit ‘n knit I was working on the hems, someone asked if she could by one, that felt great.

Towel

Towel

The draft for these towels is from Best of Handwoven: Top Ten Towels on Four Shafts.  Although the pattern draft indicates the pattern be woven at 20 epi, I believe I wove mine at 24 (2 per dent in a 12-dent reed).  Towels were woven with Venne Organic Cotton in Natural and Peacock.

Happy weaving,

Kelly

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FI-NAL-LY

  1. KerryCan says:

    This is funny–I just had the same experience with my first towels and I think I hyperventilated when I did the cutting. Your towels are very nice! I like the stripes of different patterns–rich and pretty!

Leave a Reply

