Fun in the Dyepot

With the new Gaywool dyes in stock, I thought I would have a little fun.  I decided to keep things simple by immersion dyeing some wool roving.  First was to go through my stash and find something to dye.  I found this lovely roving, described only as “organic fibre”.

 

dyeing with gaywool 011

 

Following the directions given, I soaked it for 30 minutes with a little detergent, squeezed it dry, and placed it in the pot filled with water and dye stock (I’m using Crabapple).  I was dyeing approximately 100g of roving so I used a teaspoon of dye.  The package says 12-26gms/or half an ounce of dye to 100g, but I don’t have scale that measures that small (note to self:  get one), but in Jennifer Claydon’s book Spin * Dye * Stitch she mentions a teaspoon to 100g.

I turned on the burner.  Slowly raised the heat to between 80-90 degrees celcius , and let it simmer.

dyeing with gaywool 002

 

The package says to heat for 30 minutes, so that’s what I did, and after 30 minutes this was what I had:

dyeing with gaywool 005

 

A perfectly exhausted dye bath.  I left it to cool overnight, gave it a quick rinse (no dye ran out), and put it outside to dry.

dyeing with gaywool 007

 

The colour variations in the roving are on account that I did not stir the roving in the pot.  I am always terrified of felting wool or fleece and tend not to handle it very much, I need to learn that I can (or at least, more than I do).

The finished roving, dried, braided and waiting to be spun.

dyeing with gaywool 012

 

Happy dyeing,

Kelly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fun in the Dyepot

  1. Alison says:

    LOVE IT!!!
    Personally, I really like that kind of tonal variation in roving. Can’t wait to see this spun up!

Leave a Reply

