Playing with Fibre

One thing that I have always wanted to do, but had not had the time for, was to wash and prepare a fleece for spinning.  This year I have the time.

My good friend Niki and her husband Rob have a flock of Cheviot/Alcott, primarily a meat bread, and kindly offered me a fleece to practice and hone my skills on.

Unwashed Lock

Unwashed Lock

 

Locks Ready for Washing

Locks Ready for Washing

 

Soaking in Soapy Water

Soaking in Soapy Water

 

Clean locks lashed onto wool comb.

Clean locks lashed onto wool comb.

 

Combed Fibre

Combed Fibre

 

Dizzing

Dizzing

 

"Birds Nests" Waiting for Spinning

“Birds Nests” Waiting for Spinning

I thoroughly enjoyed the process (which is good, I have lots more to do), especially the combing and dizzing.  I think I need to work on the washing a little bit better, but so far I am happy with the result.  I can’t wait to see how it spins up.

Happy knitting,

Kelly

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing with Fibre

  1. Alison says:

    Oh, what fun! You did a great job on this! Now you can teach me 😉

  2. Niki says:

    That looks great!!! Can’t wait to see it in person 🙂 And to find out how it spins…
    Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

