A New Year, A New Beginning

It is the first day of a new year, and it means a lot of different things to a lot of people. 

For me, this year will be a new beginning of sorts.  For the first time in years I am at home full-time, having closed our brick-and mortar store mid-December.  No more commuting or working six days a week.  Next week, I start setting up the web site to shop our yarns on-line.  Second, to remind myself that my husband and children are not potential customers, and do not want to be asked “how may I help you” and “what knitting are you doing today” everytime they walk in the room.

Also on the agenda?  Spend more time weaving, especially on this:

This is a LeClerc Colonial I 4-shaft counterbalance loom, and perched on the back are cones of mohair from Louet with which I hope to weave a version of this:

mohairkit_autumnwindows

(obviously mine will have only two colours, but you get the idea), but not until I have finished the Keep it Simple Towels (using Louet’s 14/2 organic cotton (being woven on my LeClerc Artisat).

new year blog post pics 004

Having read the blogs of more advanced weavers, I am fascinated with the thought of weaving with my own hand-dyed warps, so hopefully this summer, armed with these,

new year blog post pics 012

I might just do that (or skip it altogether and order some beautiful hand-dyed lace silk from Fleece Artist/Hand Maiden, if it shows up on the website, you know what I chose).

Despite all the talk of weaving, I am still knitting.  I hope to get some projects finished and post some pics soon.  I did just finish a pair of socks in Tuffy from Briggs and Little (which are now my favourite socks to wear around the house) where I used a shadow wrap short row heel technique (thank you Mara for teaching this).  This is by far the nicest short row heel I’ve seen, with no gaps at the wraps.

new year blog post pics 013

I would just like to end this post by wishing everyone a safe and happy New Year and hope you are looking as forward to 2013 as much as I am.

Happy knitting,

Kelly

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Year, A New Beginning

  1. Niki says:

    I want to knit Rob some Briggs and Little socks, I think he’d love them…another thing to add to the queue…sigh…hope you are keeping well, looking forward to getting together on the 16th!
    Happy New Year!
    Niki

  2. I hope everything goes as you had planned. Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

